Now Reading
15 Novels You Should Read Right Now

15 Novels You Should Read Right Now

Feeling bored in quarantine? Already tackled the iconic Harry Potter or To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy? Well, don’t you worry, because I’ve got you covered with 15 of the most exciting and captivating novels of the year! Don’t forget to read all the way to the end to find out how you can get your hands on a number of these books for free, without needing to leave the safe haven that is your home!

Here is my list of literature you’re sure to love:

1. The Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

Via heymaeblog.com

This novel gets off to a very emotional start and the last book in the series, Imagine Me, comes out on March 31st, 2020. This is a dystopian series that focuses on 17-year-old Juliette Ferrars. What’s hauntingly different about the protagonist is that if she touches someone, that person will die. I started reading this series when I was in high School and I’ll finish it as a college alumni, so this series means a lot to me. I think it’s ideal for those of you who want to read a dystopian series. This one has its own spin on love triangles, and it actually made me love the concept!

2. Infinity Son by Adam Silvera

Via Amazon

This is a fantasy book set in New York that centers around Emil and Brighton. It’s a universe where magical creatures exist. The brothers grew up admiring a vigilante group that takes down the specters. It’s a story of family, love, and testing loyalty. This is on my TBR (to be read) pile and from what I’ve heard so far, it’s a great fantasy novel!

3. A Sky Beyond the Storm by Sabaa Tahir

Via Amazon

This is the final book in the Ember in the Ashes series. Whilst this book won’t be released until December 2020, now is the perfect time to catch up on the rest of the series. In this finale, readers will finally find out who survives the storm. What’s more, if you’d like to learn more about Sabaa’s writing process, then I’d recommend looking her up on Instagram. She’s the kind of writer I aspire to be one day, insha’Allah.

4. Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Geekerella (Once Upon a Con, #1)
Via GoodReads

This is a fairytale re-telling with a twist: It takes place at a Comic-Con! This is such a cute and funny book, which I absolutely adore and cannot recommend enough!

5. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Via Amazon

Alien attacks threaten the existence of the human race. Cassie Sullivan is a teenager who was separated from her family during the attacks. Destiny leads her to Evan Walker, who might be her only hope. Cassie and Evan have to trust each other in order to survive. In times as fraught as these, is that possible?

6. Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen

Via Amazon

Ever Wong is expecting a summer full of strict deadlines and new rules to follow when her parents inform her that she’s being shipped off to Taipei for a culture program. Instead, she discovers Loveboat. Fans of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys series or Asian dramas will love this!

7. Somewhere Only We Know by Maurene Goo

Via Amazon

A K-pop star and a tabloid reporter meet by chance and fall in love. Any K-drama super-fans like me out there? Because if so, this is the perfect novel for you guys!

8. The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

Via Amazon

A historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy. If you’re anything like me, that’s all it will take to pique your interest!

9. Love from A to Z by S.K. Ali

Via Amazon

Marvel: something amazing. Oddity: Something that makes you a pause. In this charming novel, a marvel and an oddity occur when Adam and Zeynab meet.

10. Yes No Maybe So by Aisha Saeed and Becky Albertalli

Via Amazon

A YA novel about political canvassing? Surely there couldn’t be a more perfect time than an election year to read a book like this!

See Also
prophet muhammad

11. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Via Amazon

This is the first book in an exciting trilogy. It is relatively old, having been initially published in 2009. However, if you are a fan of Jenny Han’s other book series — To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we are looking at you — then this is the novel for you! 

12. That Can Be Arranged by Huda Fahmy

Via Amazon

In this charming novella, Huda tells the story of how she met her husband, but in a graphic novel/comic strip format. It’s a lighthearted, romantic, and funny short story!

13. The Novice by Taran Matharu

Via Amazon

This is best described as a novel where Harry Potter meets Pokemon. This epic fantasy series is sure to keep your attention!

14. Wings by Aprilynne Pike

Via Amazon

This is a series about a teenaged girl who discovers that she is a faerie, and is in charge of guarding the entrance to Avalon. Paging all fantasy-adventure lovers, because this is the book for you!

15. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare

Via Amazon

This urban fantasy series is perfect for fans of the TV show, Shadowhunters. When Clary’s mother mysteriously disappears one day, she’s swept into the Shadowhunter world. As she continues to write, Cassandra Clare’s books get better and better, and I highly recommend this series if you’re looking for something that will keep you completely engrossed. 


I hope you’re all staying safe during this pandemic! Insha’Allah, this quarantine period will pass soon, and in the meantime, I hope these book suggestions give you something to consider reading on Hoopla (a free library app) or Libby (another free library app). 

Image courtesy of Instagram/Jagoda Kwiecień
Scroll To Top